Hand-sewing Lycra, Scale Footwarmers, And A Corset!

Well, I decided that I really didn’t feel like trying to work with 6 layers of lycra fabric at a time on a machine for my first time sewing spandex. I know I have more control with hand-sewing, and spandex is rather forgiving, so I’m having a go at sewing zig-zag stitch by hand!

Zigzag detail

The red stitches are my basting stitches I used to do fittings (spandex is SUPER STRETCHY, and I always overestimate my size when cutting patterns/fabric, so I had to take it in QUITE A LOT.

Zigzag detail closeup

The zig-zag stretches quite nicely, and is easier to do than I anticipated. I’m knotting my thread every so often, so that if it breaks while in use, I just have a few small holes vs. a falling-apart tail.

zigzag hand stitch

I’m aiming to have it done (or at least presentable) by March 9th, so that I may wish someone special a happy birthday as a mermaid! I’m also trying to get it done in time for the current contest going on at the Cavalcadium (Official SPG fansite/forums).

In the meantime, I’ve finished Morticia Mermaid’s scaled footwarmers! The weather is getting nicer, so we got some nice pictures last week. They’re a great way to keep your feet toasty after swimming while still maintaining that mermaid look!

Scaled Footwarmers 1

I think it would be a neat thing for performing mermaids to have, so when kids see them after they get out of their tail, they can just point at their feet and say they aren’t finished transforming yet, see? 😀

Scaled Footwarmers 2

Aren’t they just adorable?!? I make them in custom colors (these are 3-color), and either as footwarmers (with the cuff, as pictured), or as barefoot sandals (without the cuff). I can even embellish them with beads, sequins, and other mermaid-y bits!

Scaled Footwarmers 3

Where can you procure some for yourself, you ask? They’re not available in my Etsy shop just yet! For now, they are available exclusively through my fundraiser. As soon as you donate, I start work on your “perk”, and ship it to you A.S.A.P. – No waiting until the fundraiser is over! When I meet my fundraising goal, I will then offer them in my shop.

More posts coming soon! I recently won a GORGEOUS handpainted Tardis corset from Exquisitely Rotten (make sure to check out their other wares – it was RIDICULOUSY hard for me to pick which corset I wanted, but ultimately Sexy won out)… I have quite a few outfits planned to wear with this corset, so I’ll be having a bit of a fashion show when I get it!

In the meantime, I’m still crossing my fingers to win a pair of boots from Gipsy Dharma – I think they would go spectacularly with my planned Tardis outfits, and would be divine to hoopdance and spin poi in! 🙂 ❤

Wouldn’t these just look divine with the corset? Of course, they have so many colours that I’m hard-pressed to pick just ONE favorite. I’m also in love with their “ankle” boots, which would be perfect for daily wear!

~Ta-ta for now!~

Leave a Reply

